Bayelsa APC Assembly members-elect pledge not to join PDP


Four House of Assembly members elect on the platform of the All Progressive Congress (APC), in the just concluded elections in Bayelsa State, have vowed not to be intimidated by the 19–member majority of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The state House of assembly has 23 seats occupied leaving Brass Constituency 1 the election result of  which is still pending due to a restraining court order.

The APC members made their position known on Wednesday in Yenagoa, during the presentation of certificate of return by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The member-elect from Ekeremor cConstituenc 2, Hon. Wilson Dauyegha Ayakpo, said their major assignment after ensuring their constituents are well represented, is to lobby majority members to join the progressive party for a better Bayelsa.

Ayakpo, who dedicated his victory to God, also commended the Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development,. Heineken Lokpobiri, for his massive support in ensuring that the people were mobilised to massively vote for his emergence, pledged that the people would never regret voting for him

He furthermore noted that they were faithful and would never defect but rather collaborate with everybody in the house across party lines.

He said:  “I’m elected not just to represent the All Progressives Congress, but also to represent both the ones in PDP and the entire people in Ekeremor constituency Two.

“It is my firm belief that, in politics, there are no permanent enemies and permanent friends, but what is permanent is the interest, and that interest is how to represent the good, fabulous and God-fearing people of Ekeremor constituency Two in the State House of Assembly.

Douglas Sampson, APC member elect from Nembe constituency 2, also noted that their voice will be heard aloud in order to change Bayelsa for good, adding that the constitutional bidding of the house will be truly upheld.

The state Resident Electoral Commissioner,, Mr. Monday Udoh Tom, observed that the journey leading to event had not been easy, but added that God had made it successful.

He commending the electoral officers for their doggedness in ensuring that things move on despite the difficult working terrain.

He also commended the security agencies and the various political parties for their wonderful support and cooperation.

The 23 members are Hon. Omubo Timi Angala, Brass 2, Hon. Abraham Ingobere, Brass 3, Hon.Tare Porri, Ekeremor 1, Hon. Wilson Ayakpo, Ekeremor 2, Hon. Michael Ogbere, Ekeremor 3, Hon. Emmanuel Isenah, Kolga 1, Hon. Wilson Fafi, Kolga 2, Hon. Ben Ololo, Nembe 1, Hon. Edward Irigha, Nembe 2, and Hon. Douglas Sampson, Nembe 3.

Others are Hon. Mietama Obordor, Ogbia 1, Hon. Gibson Mumalayefa, Ogbia 2, Hon. Naomi Igoli Benjamin, Ogbia 3, Hon. Kenebai Bernard, Sagbama 2, Hon. Oyinke Godbless, Sagbama 1, Hon. Salo Adikumo, Sagbama 3, Hon. Bonny Ayah, Silga 1, Hon. Monday Edwin Obolo, Silga 2, Hon. Moses Marlon, Silga 3, Hon. Igbadiwe Macdonald, Silga 4, amongst others.

Leave a Reply